Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Orland Fire Protection District swears-in two new board members

Bookmark and Share

Orland Fire Protection District swears-in two new board members

Newly elected Trustees John Brudnak and Jayne Schirmacher were sworn into office at a special meeting of the Orland Fire Protection District board Tuesday, May 7, at 5 pm at the Fire District headquarters.

Local officials joined in commemorating the new trustees inauguration welcoming the new trustees during the brief ceremony. Officials attending included Cook County Commissioner Elizabeth "Liz" Doody Gorman, Orland Park Village Mayor Dan McLaughlin, Orland Hills Mayor Kyle Hastings, and Orland Trustee Brad O'Halloran. Also speaking was OFPD Fire Chief Ken Brucki. Gorman conducted the swearing-in of each of the new trustees.

Brudnak and Schirmacher join board incumbents James Hickey, board president, and trustees Chris Evoy and Blair Rhode. Brudnak and Schirmacher will serve six year terms ending in 2019. Hickey's term ends in 2015 and Evoy and Rhode serve through 2017.

During the past two years, the new board majority has worked hard to trim waste and more closely monitor budget spending, reducing the budget during the past two years to under $30 million, the first time the budget has been under $30 million during the past 5 years. By holding the line on spending, the board prevented spending from increasing the budget and cut spending by more than $1 million each of the past two years With trimming waste and holding the line on spending, the board has saved taxpayers more than $4 million, President Hickey said.

Photos courtesy OFPD Battallion Chief Dan Smith.